top of page

The National Code

The National Code - Universities Australia[if lte IE 7]> <link href="/UserUploadedStyles/ua.ie7.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" /> <![endif]


The National Code is a set of national standards that ensure the protection of overseas students enrolled at providers registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS). The Code is a legislative instrument, legally enforceable under the ESOS Act.

The National Code is divided into four parts:

  • Part A includes a description of its role in the ESOS legislative framework and its purpose and objectives;

  • Part B outlines the roles and responsibilities of the Government (at State and Federal levels) in implementing the Code;

  • Part C explains the CRICOS registration process including providers' requirements and obligations;

  • Part D provides 15 standards that providers must meet in their interactions with international students.

The National Code is due for review in 2014. Universities Australia will be working closely with the sector and Government to ensure the Code is amended to reflect changes to the ESOS Act, to the student visa program and the establishment of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standard Agency.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page